UMSI awards and honors

Annually, the School of Information faculty, staff and students select outstanding members of the academic community for special recognition of achievement and promise.

Margaret Mann Award

Presented to one or more students in each graduating master's degree class who demonstrate ability and promise of professional development. Awarded annually since 1941.


Edmon Low Award

Established by the Class of 1972, this award is presented by the School of Information Master's Association to a fellow master's student at commencement.


John Leslie King Award

Established in 2015, this award recognizes an outstanding student in the Bachelor of Science in Information program.


Outstanding Graduate Student Instructor Awards

Awards are made annually to graduate student instructors, in recognition of outstanding teaching and innovative teaching with technology.

Michael D. Cohen Service Award

This faculty award is named in honor of one of its recipients, the late Professor Emeritus Michael Cohen, and recognizes professional service among faculty.


Excellence in Instruction

This faculty award is presented annually in recognition of outstanding teaching.

The Joan Durrance Community Engagement Award

The Joan Durrance Community Engagement Award periodically recognizes one or more UMSI faculty members. Faculty are honored for their excellence in building partnerships with communities to develop  successful, sustainable information-related projects that address societal challenges. This award is named in honor of Professor Joan Durrance, who retired at the end of the 2010-2011 academic year.

The Gary M. Olson Outstanding Ph.D. Student Award

Named for former dean and professor, the Gary M. Olson Outstanding PhD Student Award is given yearly to a student based on progress in the program, achievements in terms of publications and presentations, as well as service to fellow students.

Outstanding Staff Recognition Award

This award may be given annually to an UMSI staff member who contributed in an outstanding way to advancing the UMSI mission.

The Nikki Candelore Roda Award

The first new award created by the School of Information in 40 years and the first award named for a student, the Nikki Candelore Roda Student Impact Award celebrates a graduate student who has shown initiative and dedication to service, has influenced the culture and climate of the school in positive ways, has been a student leader and good ambassador, and has left a lasting legacy. The recipient is chosen by the school's office of student affairs staff.


 UMSI Innovator Award

This award, established in 2016 through an endowment from alumnus Jerry Miller (AMLS '86, PhD '95), recognizes outstanding achievement by students participating in the University of Michigan Design Clinic and other design-oriented courses.

UMSI Award for Impact in Diversity, Equity and Inclusion

These awards, established in 2016, recognize individuals or groups within the School of Information who demonstrate a significant commitment to fostering diversity, equity and inclusion. The goal is to honor a student, staff member and faculty member at UMSI annually.

UMSI Award for Impact in Gender Diversity in Information and Technology

The Award for Impact in Gender Diversity in Information and Technology was developed to recognize an individual or group within the School of Information who has made significant contributions to the advancement of gender diversity in information and technology.